Wednesday 17th July 2019

Goa CM Pramod Sawant wins trust vote

admin 3:16 pm News Views: 95

Panaji, 20 March : Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant on Wednesday won the trust vote in the state Assembly.

Twenty of the 36 members in the House voted for the BJP-led coalition government while 15 opposed the motion.

The 20 legislators who voted for the motion included 11 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 3 each of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and Goa Forward Party and 3 Independents while 15 MLAs (14 Congress and 1 NCP) opposed the motion in the Goa Assembly.

The ‘magic number’ for a simple majority in the 36-member House was 19. The trust vote was overseen by Acting Speaker and BJP MLA Michael Lobo.

Related Post