Sunday 25th August 2019

Lok Sabha Elections to be Held in 7 Phases from April 11, Results on 23 May

admin 7:18 pm News Views: 174

New Delhi, 10 March : The Election Commission on Sunday announced that the Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases starting from April 11. The counting of votes for all 543 parliamentary constitutencies will be on May 23, the commission announced.

While the first phase will be held on April 11, the subsequent phases will be held on April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

In the first phase, 91 constituencies will to go for polls, 97 constituencies in the second phase, 115 constituencies in the third, 71 in fourth phase, 51 in fifth phase, 59 in sixth and 59 in the seventh phase.

With the model code of conduct for elections coming into immediate effect, the government cannot announce any policy move that may impact voters’ decision.

Related Post